Harmanpreet Kaur: Indian captain named Wisden's Cricketer of the Year.

Indians are celebrating after Harmanpreet Kaur became the first Indian woman to be named as one of Wisden's five Cricketers of the Year.

The Indian captain is a prolific scorer both at home and abroad. She led Mumbai Indians to win the inaugural Women's Premier League in March.

Others Wisden winners are New Zealand's Tom Blundell and Daryl Mitchell, and England's Ben Foakes and Matthew Potts.

Wisden's tradition of giving these awards goes back to 1889.

Wisden said that Kaur, the captain of the Indian women's team, made it to the list primarily because of her sublime 143 not out from 111 balls in the second one-day international in Canterbury, which guided India to win their maiden ODI series on English soil since 1999.

After being put in to bat, India scored an imposing 333-5, the highest total England have ever conceded in a home ODI. Kaur struck 18 fours and four sixes in her innings, supported by Harleen Deol's 58.

Meanwhile, Indian batsman Suryakumar Yadav has been named the Wisden T20 Cricketer of the Year for his stunning performances throughout the year. And England captain Ben Stokes has been named Wisden's leading cricketer in the world.

Source: www.bbc.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts