Argentina replace Indonesia as under-20 World Cup host.

FIFA has selected Argentina to host the under-20 soccer World Cup after revoking the hosting rights from Indonesia. This decision was made after Indonesia’s football association cancelled the draw scheduled to take place in Bali due to the governor’s refusal to host Israel’s team.

The South American Football Confederation Congress received the official bid from the Argentine Football Association to host the under-20 soccer World Cup from May 20 to June 11. The tournament’s official draw will take place in Zurich. Argentina, which has won a record six titles, last hosted the under-20 World Cup in 2001. Additionally, it is in the running to jointly host the 2030 World Cup finals alongside Uruguay, Chile, and Paraguay.

About the FIFA U-20 World Cup

The under-20 soccer World Cup, also known as the FIFA U-20 World Cup, is a biennial international football tournament organized by FIFA for the national teams of men’s under-20 age group. The tournament was first held in 1977 as the FIFA World Youth Championship, and since then, it has been held every two years except for a brief period from 1979-1985. The tournament has been won by a variety of countries, with Argentina having the most wins with a total of six titles. The most recent tournament was held in 2019 and was won by Ukraine.

Source: https://thewest.com.au


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts