US Open 2022 Concludes.

In the men’s category, Spanish player C. Alcaraz Garcia has lifted his first Grand Slam trophy after defeating C. Ruud, to become the youngest player to reach world No. 1 at just 19 years old. The event was held at the Arthur Ashe Stadium in New York. In the women’s category, Poland tennis player I. Świątek defeated O. Jabeur to win the 2022 US Open women’s singles final title.

In 2022, the U.S. Open set a new record for total prize purse, at more than $60 million, up from $57.5 million in 2021. For women’s and men’s singles, the total prize money is $42,628,000, with the winners taking $2.6 million respectively. The men’s and women’s singles runner-ups will each receive $1.3 million.

Here is the Complete List of Winners in Different Categories:

S. No.CategoryWinnerRunner Up
1.Men’s Singles
C. Alcaraz Garfia
C. Ruud
2.Women’s SinglesI. ŚwiątekO. Jabeur
3.Men’s Doubles
R. Ram
J. Salisbury
W. Koolhof
N. Skupski
4.Women’s Doubles
K. Siniaková 
B. Krejčíková
C. McNally 
T. Townsend
5.Mixed Doubles
S. Sander
J. Peers
K. Flipkens 
É. Roger-Vasselin

About the US Open:

The US Open, organized by the United States Tennis Association (USTA), is a hard-court tennis grand slam tournament that is held once every year. Founded in 1881, the US Open started off as competition on grass and later on clay surfaces for two years in 1975 and 1977, and finally moved to hard courts since 1978. Also from 1978, US Open is being held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, Queens, New York City. US Open, earlier known as US National Championship, has been held 141 times so far with many champions crowned over the years.

Source: https://www.insidesport.in


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts