Winners of the Breakthrough Prize 2023.

The 2023 winners of the Breakthrough Prizes, dubbed the “Oscars of Science,” were announced and will split a total of more than $15 million. 2023 Breakthrough Prize laureates, recognized for their game-changing discoveries in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences and Mathematics, along with early-career scientists who have made significant contributions to their fields. Daniel A. Spielman has been honoured with the 2023 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics for multiple discoveries in theoretical computer science and mathematics.

Full citations for all the 2023 laureates can be found below:

2023 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences

  • Clifford P. Brangwynne, Princeton University, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Anthony A. Hyman, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

(For discovering a fundamental mechanism of cellular organization mediated by phase separation of proteins and RNA into membraneless liquid droplets.)

  • Demis Hassabis, DeepMind
  • John Jumper, DeepMind

(For developing a deep learning AI method that rapidly and accurately predicts the three-dimensional structure of proteins from their amino acid sequence.)

  • Emmanuel Mignot, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Masashi Yanagisawa, University of Tsukuba

(For discovering that narcolepsy is caused by the loss of a small population of brain cells that make a wake-promoting substance, paving the way for the development of new treatments for sleep disorders.)

2023 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics:

  • Charles H. Bennett, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
  • Gilles Brassard, Université de Montréal
  • David Deutsch, Oxford University
  • Peter W. Shor, MIT

(For foundational work in the field of quantum information.)

2023 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

  • Daniel A. Spielman, Yale University

(For breakthrough contributions to theoretical computer science and mathematics, including to spectral graph theory, the Kadison-Singer problem, numerical linear algebra, optimization, and coding theory.)

2023 New Horizons in Physics Prize

  • David Simmons-Duffin, Caltech

(For the development of analytical and numerical techniques to study conformal field theories, including the ones describing the liquid-vapour critical point and the superfluid phase transition.)

  • Anna Grassellino, Fermilab

(For the discovery of major performance enhancements to niobium superconducting radio-frequency cavities, with applications ranging from accelerator physics to quantum devices.)

  • Hannes Bernien, University of Chicago
  • Manuel Endres, Caltech
  • Adam M. Kaufman, JILA, National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado
  • Kang-Kuen Ni, Harvard University
  • Hannes Pichler, University of Innsbruck and Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Jeff Thompson, Princeton University

(For the development of optical tweezer arrays to realize control of individual atoms for applications in quantum information science, metrology, and molecular physics.)

2023 New Horizons in Mathematics Prize

  • Ana Caraiani, Imperial College London and University of Bonn(For diverse transformative contributions to the Langlands program, and in particular for work with Peter Scholze on the Hodge-Tate period map for Shimura varieties and its applications.
  • Ronen Eldan, Weizmann Institute of Science and Microsoft Research

(For the creation of the stochastic localization method, that has led to significant progress in several open problems in high-dimensional geometry and probability, including Jean Bourgain’s slicing problem and the KLS conjecture.)

  • James Maynard, Oxford University and Institute for Advanced Study

(For multiple contributions to analytic number theory, and in particular to the distribution of prime numbers.)

2023 Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize

  • Maggie Miller, Stanford University and Clay Mathematics Institute (PhD Princeton University 2020)(For work on fibered ribbon knots and surfaces in 4-dimensional manifolds.)
  • Jinyoung Park, Stanford University (PhD Rutgers University 2020)(For contributions to the resolution of several major conjectures on thresholds and selector processes.)
  • Vera Traub, University of Bonn (PhD University of Bonn 2020)

(For advances in approximation results in classical combinatorial optimization problems, including the travelling salesman problem and network design.)

About The Breakthrough Prize:

For the eleventh year, the Breakthrough Prize, renowned as the “Oscars of Science,” recognizes the world’s top scientists. Each prize is $3 million and presented in the fields of Life Sciences, Fundamental Physics and Mathematics. In addition, up to three New Horizons in Physics Prizes, up to three New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes and up to three Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prizes are given out to early-career researchers each year. Laureates attend a gala award ceremony designed to celebrate their achievements and inspire the next generation of scientists. As part of the ceremony schedule, they also engage in a program of lectures and discussions.

The Breakthrough Prizes were founded by Sergey Brin, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg, Julia and Yuri Milner, and Anne Wojcicki and have been sponsored by foundations established by them. Selection Committees composed of previous Breakthrough Prize laureates in each field choose the winners.

Source: https://breakthroughprize.org


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts