World Lymphoma Awareness Day - 15 September.

World Lymphoma Awareness Day on September 15th is dedicated to informing the public about cancers of the lymphatic system.

The lymphatic system is a vast network of vessels that make up our lymphatic system. They branch out into every tissue of our body. The vessels contain a colorless, fluid called lymph. This intricate system of fluid and vessels act as a transport system carrying lymphocytes. These specialized white blood cells fight infection.

When lymphoma develops, it attacks the lymphocytes making it difficult for our bodies to fight infection. These cells are found throughout our body, not just our lymph nodes. Lymphocytes live in our bone marrow, spleen, and our blood.

There are over 30 types of lymphoma with two main subtypes – Hodgkin’s lymphoma and non-Hodgkins lymphoma.

Symptoms include:

  • Lymph node swelling
  • Fatigue that persists
  • Night sweats
  • Fever
  • Difficulty catching breath
  • Unexplained weight loss

There are different types of lymphoma. According to the National Institutes of Health, in the United States in 2019, an estimated 74,200 new cases of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma will be reported. Of all new cancer cases reported, non-Hodgkin lymphoma accounts for 4.2%.

Each year organizations around the world focus on a new theme. Each theme provides education, support, research, and more.

In 2004, the world observed the first World Lymphoma Day. Since then, the observance has grown to include art displays, numerous organizations, campaigns, and fundraisers.

Source: https://nationaldaycalendar.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts