Four new sensitive Ecological Zones identified.

The Environment Ministry has initiated a programme to identify and declare sensitive Ecological Zones in the country.

The Biodiversity Unit of the Ministry has initiated this programme on the instructions of Environment Minister Mahinda Amaraweera. The purpose of this programme is to prevent damage to the environment during the implementation of national development projects, said Ministry Secretary Dr. Anil Jasinghe.

Accordingly, four more sensitive ecosystems have been designated as Sensitive Ecological Zones, said Dr. Jasinghe. These new sensitive ecosystems have been identified in Manewa, Gangewadiya, Eluwankulama, and Galnewa.

Previously, there were reports of damage to these ecosystems during the implementation of development projects. However, under the new arrangement, the Ministry will take steps to conserve them, and no individual or institution will be allowed to destroy those ecological zones. They are protected under the National Environmental Act and their safety is guaranteed.

Source: www.dailynews.lk


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts