Hockey World Cup 2023

Germany beat Belgium 5-4 in the penalty shootout to win the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, India. The scores were level at the end of regulation time at 3-3. This is Germany’s third Hockey World Cup title after they won it in 2002 and 2006. With this, they draw level with Netherlands and Australia. Germany also became the fourth team to register a come-from-behind win in a World Cup final. From a 2-0 deficit to a 3-2 to lead and ultimately a shootout, they eventually became champions.

Earlier in the day, the Netherlands beat Australia 3-1 to claim the bronze medal. It was the first time since 1998 that Australia failed to finish on podium at the FIH World Cup.

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 standings – all teams

  1. Germany
  2. Belgium
  3. Netherlands
  4. Australia
  5. England
  6. Spain
  7. New Zealand
  8. Korea
  9. Argentina
  10. India


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts