New resolution on Sri Lanka adopted at UNHRC with majority votes.

The new resolution titled Promoting reconciliation, accountability and human rights in Sri Lanka, which was tabled at the 51st Regular Session of the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) today (06), has been adopted with majority votes.

A total of 20 countries including the United Kingdom, United States, France, Finland, Germany, Mexico, the Netherlands, Poland and the Republic of Korea had voted in favour of Resolution A/HR/51/5/L1/Rev1.

Meanwhile, 07 countries – China, Bolivia, Pakistan, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Cuba and Eritrea – had voted against the resolution.

India, Japan, Nepal, UAE, Qatar, Libya and Indonesia were among the 20 countries that abstained from voting.

Permanent Representative to the UK in Geneva, Ambassador Simon Manley introduced the resolution on Sri Lanka at the 51st Regular Session of the UNHRC earlier today.

Presenting the resolution, he said the text is largely based on last year’s resolution but has been updated to reflect some of the key developments over the last 18 months in what has been a rather dramatic time for Sri Lanka - an economic crisis, mass protests, and a change in government, all of which have had a significant bearing on the human rights situation in the country.

The draft both recognizes the challenges Sri Lanka faced during this period and acknowledges the progress where this has occurred, Manley added.


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts