US "Legion of Merit" awarded to the Indian Prime Minister.

US "Legion of Merit"  awarded to the Indian Prime Minister.

US President Donald Trump has presented one of the country’s highest military decoration, The Legion of Merit, to the Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with Australian PM Scott Morrison and former Japanese PM Shinzo Abe.

He has been awarded for his leadership for evaluating the strategic partnership of two countries and emergence of India as a global power.

This is significant since the four leaders were key to reviving the Quadrilateral grouping since 2017, which is part of the Indo-Pacific strategy.

The award was received by Indian Ambassador to the US Taranjit Singh Sandhu on behalf of the Prime Minister from the US National Security Advisor Robert O'Brien at the White House. 

In September, the award was given after 29 years to the Amir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah.

There have been two Indian recipients of the hounour in the past: Field Marshal K M Cariappa in 1950, and Gen S M Srinagesh in 1955.

About the Legion of Merit

The Legion Of Merit (LOM) is a military award of the United States Armed Forces that is given for exceptionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding services and achievements. The decoration is issued to members of the eight uniformed services of the United States[5] as well as to military and political figures of foreign governments. The award is being given since 1943.

Read Full News


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts