Virat Kohli breaks Sachin Tendulkar’s ODI record.

Kohli reached the milestone on 106 balls, hitting eight fours and two sixes in the first knockout match of the tournament.

India were 71-1 when he arrived in the middle after captain Rohit Sharma’s dismissal.

Kohli celebrated his 35th birthday by scoring his 49th century, which brought him level with Tendulkar, in the match against South Africa earlier this month.

The Delhi-born batter reached his fifty from 59 balls with four boundaries and a six, which came off Tim Southee.

Kohli reached his 50th ODI hundred in his 279th match, while Tendulkar required 452 to reach 49 centuries.

Rohit is third on the list of ODI century makers, with 31 from 253 innings.

Kohli made 12 on his India debut in 2008 when opening the innings as the side were bowled out by Sri Lanka for 146 ahead of an eight-wicket defeat in Dambulla.

Three years later, at the Wankhede Stadium, Kohli would lift the ICC Cricket World Cup, alongside Tendulkar, as India overcame co-hosts Sri Lanka by six wickets.

Kohli made his Test debut in 2011, scoring 4 and 15 against the West Indies in Jamaica, and has gone on to score 29 centuries in 111 matches.

He also has one century in 115 T20 internationals.

Kohli’s Centuries:

Virat Kohli records journey to 50 ODI centuries has been marked by consistent excellence across various conditions and against formidable opponents. Here is a comprehensive list of Virat Kohli’s ODI centuries:

1107 vs SL (2009)Kolkata
2102* vs BAN (’10)Dhaka
3118 vs AUS (’10)Visakhapatnam
4105 vs NZ (’10)Guwahati
5100* vs BAN (’11)Dhaka
6107 vs ENG (’11)Cardiff
7117* vs ENG (’11)Delhi
8117 vs WI (’11)Visakhapatnam
9133* vs SL (’12)Hobart
10108 vs SL (’12)Mirpur
11183 vs PAK (’12)Mirpur
12106 vs SL (’12)Hambantota
13128 vs SL (’12)Colombo
14102 vs WI (’13)Port of Spain
15115 vs ZIM (’13)Harare
16100* vs AUS (’13)Jaipur
17115 vs AUS (’13)Nagpur
18123 vs NZ (’14)Napier
19136 vs BAN (’14)Fatullah
20127 vs WI (’14)Dharamsala
21139* vs SL (’14)Ranchi
22107 vs PAK (’15)Adelaide
23138 vs SA (’15)Chennai
24117 vs AUS (’16)Melbourne
25106 vs AUS (’16)Canberra
26154* vs NZ (’16)Mohali
27122 vs ENG (’17)Pune
28111* vs WI (’17)Kingston
29131 vs SL (’17)Colombo
30110* vs SL (’17)Colombo
31121 vs NZ (’17)Mumbai
32113 vs NZ (’17)Kanpur
33112 VS SA (’18)Durban
34160* vs SA (’18)Cape Town
35129* v SA (’18)Centurion
36140 vs WI (’18)Guwahati
37157* vs WI (’18)Visakhapatnam
38107 vs WI (’18)Pune
39104 vs AUS (’19)Adelaide
40116 vs AUS (’19)Nagpur
41123 vs AUS (’19)Ranchi
42120 vs WI (’19)Port of Spain
43114* vs WI (’19)Port of Spain
44113 vs BAN (’22)Chattogram
45113 vs SL (’23)Guwahati
46166* vs SL (’23)Thiruvananthapuram
47122* vs PAK (’23)Colombo
48103* vs BAN (’23)Pune
49101* vs SA (’23)Kolkata
50117* vs NZ (’23)Mumbai

Source: www.aljazeera.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts