New Zealand Cricket Awards - 2022

All rounder Amelia Kerr and batter Will Young were on Wednesday named ODI Players of the Year in the women's and men's categories respectively at the 2022 New Zealand Cricket awards. On Thursday, fast bowler Tim Southee earned his maiden Sir Richard Hadlee medal while Penny Kinsella earned the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket. Top-order batter Devon Conway was named as the Test player of the year.

While Kerr scored 171 runs and picked six wickets in six matches in 2021, she put up superb performances in the recently-concluded Women's World Cup where she scored 201 runs and took nine wickets in seven games.

Young, who got to play just three ODIs in the season, made his mark by scoring two centuries in the home series against Netherlands for which he won the Player-of-the-Series award.

Honour Roll

  • Hadlee Medal: Tim Southee
  • Sutcliffe Medal: Penny Kinsella
  • Test Player of the Year: Devon Conway
  • T20 Players of the Year: Sophie Devine, Trent Boult
  • ODI Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr, Will Young
  • Super Smash Players of the Year: Amelia Kerr, Michael Bracewell
  • Domestic Players of the Year: Nensi Patel, Tom Bruce, Robbie O'Donnell
  • Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Devon Conway
  • The Ruth Martin Cup for women's domestic batting: Suzie Bates
  • The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Tim Southee
  • The Phyl Blackler Cup for women's domestic bowling: Eden Carson
  • New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Gaffaney

Source: www.espncricinfo.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts