Sri Lanka to get USD 200,000 prize money from ICC.

Sri Lanka is set to bag USD 200,000 from the International Cricket Council (ICC) for finishing fifth in the ICC World Test Championship 2021 – 2023 cycle.

The ICC today (26 May) announced the prize pot for the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle, with a total purse of USD 3.8 million to be shared between the nine teams.

Accordingly, Sri Lanka, who were among the top teams in the race for a spot in the decider during the epic finale, finished fifth to earn USD 200,000, while the remaining teams New Zealand (No.6), Pakistan (No.7), West Indies (No.8), and Bangladesh (No.9) will be rewarded with a sum of USD 100,000 each.

Meanwhile, Australia and India will meet in the Ultimate Test at The Oval in London from 07 June with the triumphant team set to take home more than just the WTC mace.

The winners of the ICC World Test Championship 2023 Final will take home a whopping prize of $1.6 million while the runners-up will pocket USD 800,000. 

There is no change in the tournament prize money, which remains the same as that for the inaugural edition of the championship (2019-21) with a total purse of USD 3.8 million.

Kane Williamson’s New Zealand were rewarded with USD 1.6 million in Southampton in 2021 after they sealed an eight-wicket win over India in the rain-marred six-day WTC final.

All nine teams will get a share in the $3.8 million purse with South Africa earning USD 450,000 for finishing third in the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 standings. England, who made a late surge and finished their campaign in fourth spot, will bag USD 350,000.


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts