22nd FIFA World Cup 2022

The 22nd FIFA men’s world cup was formally declared open at a colourful ceremony held at the Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor, Qatar on 20 November. It is for the first time that an Arab country is hosting the football tournament. 32 teams will play for the most coveted prize in international football, with the final scheduled to take place on December 18 at the Lusail stadium, the biggest one among the eight stadiums being used to host the World Cup. On December 18, 2022, Qatar’s National Day, the opening game takes place at Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor between Qatar and Ecuador. 

FIFA World Cup 2022: Key Points

  • The 22nd FIFA men’s world cup will be held in Qatar from 20 November to 18 December 2022.
  • It is the first time that an Arab country will host the tournament.
  • It is the second world cup to be held in Asia after the 2002 World cup which was jointly hosted by Japan and South Korea.
  • A total of 32 teams will participate in the world cup.
  • La’eeb is the official mascot of the Cup. It is inspired by the keffiyeh, a traditional headdress worn by Arab men.

The name of the football to be used during the world cup is Al Rihla. Al Rihla means “Journey” in Arabic. It has been made by the German multinational company Adidas. It is the 14th successive time that a ball made by Adidas will be used in the FIFA world cup. Al-Rihla is the first FIFA World cup ball to be made exclusively with water based inks and glues.

The stadiums being used to host the FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

  • Al Bayt Stadium
  • Lusail Stadium
  • Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium
  • Al Janoub Stadium
  • Al Thumama Stadium
  • Education City Stadium
  • Khalifa International Stadium
  • Stadium 974

Qatar 2022 squads
Whereas FIFA World Cup squads were previously comprised of 23 players, each country will take 26 to Qatar 2022. Teams must submit their squads to FIFA by 14 November. Some have already released theirs:
  1. Argentina
  2. Australia squad
  3. Belgium squad
  4. Brazil squad
  5. Cameroon squad
  6. Canada squad
  7. Costa Rica squad
  8. Croatia squad
  9. Denmark squad
  10. Ecuador squad
  11. England squad
  12. France squad
  13. Germany squad
  14. Ghana squad
  15. IR Iran
  16. Japan squad
  17. Korea Republic
  18. Mexico
  19. Morocco squad
  20. Netherlands
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Qatar
  24. Saudi Arabia
  25. Senegal
  26. Serbia
  27. Spain
  28. Switzerland squad
  29. Tunisia
  30. Uruguay
  31. USA squad
  32. Wales squad

FIFA World Cup 2022 Groups

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales
  • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
  • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
  • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

Prize money of the Qatar World Cup.

Apart from winning the most prestigious trophy in football, there are substantial financial incentives for the teams in the FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

  • The winner of the Qatar World Cup will bag a sum of 38 million euros (INR 344 crores).
  • The runner-up of the Qatar World Cup will get 27.27 million euros (INR 245 crores).
  • The third-placed team will pocket 24.45 million euros (INR 220 crores).

The official mascot of the Qatar World Cup is La’eeb. The adventurous, fun and curious La’eeb was unveiled during the Qatar 2022 Final Draw, which took place in Doha on April 1, following a tradition that was initiated in England 1966. It is inspired by the keffiyeh, a traditional headdress worn by Arab men. ‘La’eeb’ in Arabic translates to ‘super-skilled player’, in anticipation of the hundreds of footballers about to land in the country. It is made of a piece of clothing.

Source: www.fifa.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts