Arjuna Ranatunga appointed chairman of National Sports Council.

Former Sri Lanka cricket captain and former MP Arjuna Ranatunga has been appointed as the chairperson of the 15-member National Sports Council to advise the sports minister on subject-related policy matters.

The letters of appointment of the council members were handed over by Minister of Sports Roshan Ranasinghe today (Aug 10).

The members of the council are as follows:

1. Former MP Arjuna Ranatunga (Chairman)

2. Army Commander Lt. Gen. Vikum Liyanage 

3. Air Force Commander Air Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana

4. Navy Commander Vice Admiral Nishantha Ulugetenna

5. Sports Director-General Amal Edirisooriya

6. Dr. Maiya Gunasekera

7. Major General Rajitha Ampemohotti

8. Former Sri Lankan hurdler Sriyani Kulawansa

9. Attorney-at-Law Ajith Pathirana

10. Sunil Jayaweera

11. Chrysantha Mendis

12. Lasitha Gunaratne

13. Nalinda Ilangakoon

14. Sudath Chandrasekara

15. Sujani Bogollagama (Secretary)

The council was previously headed by former Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardena, however, its members resigned after former Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa stepped down from his ministerial portfolio amidst the country’s political and economic crisis.

The council previously consisted of 14 members.


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts