New York, Dallas, and Florida to host T20 Cricket World Cup matches in 2024.

In a significant announcement, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially designated three prestigious venues in the United States for hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. This marks a historic moment as the tournament makes its debut on American soil, with Dallas, Florida, and New York being selected as the host cities.

Venue Selection and Background

The ICC Board made the decision to entrust the hosting rights of the event to the West Indies and the USA back in November 2021. After a meticulous evaluation process, these three cities were chosen as the ideal locations to showcase this thrilling cricket spectacle. Let’s delve deeper into each of these venues:

1. Grand Prairie, Dallas

Grand Prairie in Dallas, Texas, will be one of the proud hosts of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. This vibrant city in the Lone Star State is set to witness thrilling cricket action as it gears up to accommodate cricket enthusiasts from around the world.

2. Broward County, Florida

Florida, known for its sunny weather and diverse culture, will also play a pivotal role in this historic event. Broward County, located in the southeastern part of the state, will provide an ideal setting for T20 cricket at its finest.

3. Nassau County, New York

The cricket fever extends to the iconic Nassau County in New York. This world-famous destination will become an integral part of cricket history as it hosts matches that promise to captivate audiences worldwide.

Infrastructure Development

To ensure the success of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, preparations are in full swing, including infrastructure development. Notably, a groundbreaking agreement has been reached for the construction of a cutting-edge, 34,000-seat modular stadium in Eisenhower Park, Nassau County, New York. The construction will commence upon the issuance of the required permits next month. Moreover, the existing venues in Grand Prairie and Broward County will undergo expansions through modular stadium solutions. These upgrades will enhance seating capacity, media facilities, and premium hospitality areas, subject to final agreement.

Recalling the 2022 Edition

As cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the 2024 edition, it’s worth reminiscing about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which was hosted by Australia. The final showdown between Pakistan and England was a memorable contest. Jos Buttler’s leadership guided England to a thrilling five-wicket victory over Pakistan. England’s star all-rounder, Ben Stokes, played a pivotal role by scoring 52 runs off 49 balls, ensuring his team reached the target of 138 runs. Sam Curran, another English talent, was named the Player of the Match and the Player of the Series. This triumph marked England’s second title in the history of the Men’s T20 World Cup, with their first win occurring in the 2010 edition.

Source: https://island.lk


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts