Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek crowned as 2022 ITF World Champions.

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) has announced that Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek have been named 2022 ITF World Champions, following impressive seasons in which both players won two Grand Slam singles titles.

Nadal and Swiatek are among 11 players who have been announced as ITF World Champions this week. In the doubles category, Rajeev Ram of USA and Great Britain’s Joe Salisbury are first-time winners of the ITF Men’s Doubles World Champion award, while the Czech pair of Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova win the ITF Women’s Doubles World Champion award for the third time.

Japan’s Shingo Kunieda and Netherlands’ Diede de Groot were honoured in the men’s and women’s wheelchair categories, respectively – a 10th award for Kunieda and fourth for De Groot – while Niels Vink became the first Dutchman to be named ITF Quad Wheelchair World Champion.

At junior level, two-time Grand Slam boys’ singles runner-up Gilles Arnaud Bailly of Belgium has been rewarded for a season of consistent performances, while Roland Garros girls’ singles champion Lucie Havlickova of Czech Republic was crowned as ITF Girls World Champion.

The 11 World Champions will be honoured at the annual ITF World Champions Awards event on Saturday 8 July 2023. The Awards, previously held in Paris, are moving to London and being held at the beautiful and historic Victoria and Albert Museum, home to more than 2.8 million treasures celebrating art and design.

The ITF’s selection of its senior World Champions is based on an objective system that considers all results during the year, but gives special weight to the Grand Slam tournaments and two ITF international team competitions, Davis Cup by Rakuten and Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge. 

Source: www.itftennis.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts