Argentina formally rejects BRICS membership.

Argentina's President Javier Milei has sent letters to BRICS leaders to formalize his decision to withdraw his country from its planned entry into the alliance of major emerging economies, it was announced on Friday.

Milei said the moment was not "opportune" for Argentina to join as a full member.

The bloc — made up of G20 nations Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa — in August announced it was admitting six new members.

The membership of Argentina, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates was due to take effect from January 1, 2024.

The BRICS nations currently account for about 40% of the world's population and more than a quarter of the world's GDP, with as many as 14 nations mostly from Asia, Africa and the Middle East interested in joining the bloc.

Source: www.dw.com


No comments:

Post a Comment




Popular Posts

Blog Archive

Recent Posts